US sanctions eight Cuban officials

The United States government announced on Thursday new visa restrictions against Cuban government officials, in this case against eight individuals, for their role in the official response to the protests of July 11 on the island.

“Due to the harsh and unjust sentences imposed on peaceful protesters, the State Department today took steps to impose visa restrictions on eight Cuban officials implicated in attempts to silence the voices of the Cuban people through repression, unjust detentions and harsh prison sentences.” Secretary of State Antony Blinken reported in a press release.

Today’s is the latest measure taken by the administration of President Joe Biden in response to the campaign of “repression” carried out by the Havana authorities in the wake of the protests on July 11, 2021, when thousands of protesters came out. to the streets in more than 60 towns and cities on the island demanding freedom, an end to police violence and the resignation of President Miguel D√≠az-Canel.

Connect with the Voice of America! Subscribe to our channel Youtube and activate notifications, or, follow us on social networks: Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.