Red alert decreed in 28 Salvadoran municipalities due to rains | News

The National Directorate of Civil Protection of El Salvador declared this Thursday the red alert in 28 municipalities of the country due to the intense rains registered in the last hours, which have caused seven deaths so far.


Simon’s journey

The entity decreed the maximum alert for the municipalities of Cuscatancingo, Ayutuxtepeque, Santo Tomás, Santiago Texacuangos, Rosario de Mora, Ilopango, Nejapa, Santa Ana, Tacuba, Concepción de Ataco, Apaneca, Cuisnahuat, La Palma, and San Francisco Morazán.

The municipalities of Tejutla, Dulce Nombre de María, Concepción Quezaltepeque, Comalapa, Colón, Santa Tecla, Comasagua, Talnique, Chiltiupán, Zaragoza, San Salvador, Panchimalco, Huizúcar and San Miguel are added.

Given the continuation of the rains in the next few hours, Civil Protection kept the remaining municipalities on orange alert and reported that rapid response teams will be installed in “areas susceptible to movements of slopes and floods.”

So far, seven people have been reported dead as a result of the rains, of which two were in the Panchimalco municipality, located in the department of San Salvador; and five in the town of Huizúcar, in the department of La Libertad.

The authorities assured that “preventive evacuations and transfer to temporary shelters” will be carried out.

Civil Protection also reported that the Intertropical Convergence Zone (ZCIT) remains over Central America and they have observed a system that can slowly develop into a tropical cyclone.

“All the Municipal and Departmental Civil Protection Commissions must keep the Emergency Operations Centers and Sectoral Technical teams active: Emergency Services, Security, Infrastructure and Logistics. In addition, the Shelter Technical teams are activated, and the Commission Scientific Technical Sectorial Technique”, specified the entity.

In the same way, it was exhorted to be in permanent communication with the Departmental Commission of Civil Protection, according to each jurisdiction.