They maintain alert for rains in four Dominican provinces | News

The National Meteorology Office (Onamet) of the Dominican Republic decreed this Thursday that it maintains a state of alert in four provinces against the effects of a trough and the proximity of a tropical wave.


Dominican Republic reports eight fatalities due to rains

The entity specified that the provinces contained in alert are El Seibo, La Altagracia, San Pedro de Macorís and La Romana, close to the Caribbean Sea.

The Onamet indicated that, from the afternoon, the increase in cloudiness will generate rains, electrical storms and gusts of wind in those areas.

“For the night hours, a tropical wave will approach the country, which will leave scattered precipitation and possible thunderstorms, especially in sectors located on the southern coastal coastline,” he said.

The authority predicts possible flooding of rivers, streams and ravines, as well as landslides.

Likewise, it urges sailors to exercise caution in coastal regions starting at night.

For Friday, the entity forecasts local downpours, thunder and gusts of wind in some areas of the northeast, southeast, the Central Cordillera and the border region.

The day before, the Emergency Operations Center (COE) had declared a green alert for the trough in those four provinces, including Hato Mayor.

According to reports, the rains of the last 36 hours have accumulated at least 65 millimeters in those regions.