The Netherlands in Qatar 2022: what time does it start and how to watch it on television and the internet

(CNN Spanish) — Argentina commanded by Lionel Messi is in the prelude to another World Cup semifinal; However, to get there, they will first have to beat the Virgil van Dijk-led Netherlands team in their quarter-final match at Qatar 2022.

On the one hand, the Albiceleste comes to this match only with a setback in the cup, when they lost against Saudi Arabia in their debut in Qatar. Meanwhile, the weakest result that the Clockwork Orange has had in this World Cup was a 1-1 against Ecuador on matchday 2 of the group stage.

Beyond how they currently arrive, it is a confrontation with a great football history. In the World Cup balance, the duel is level: two wins for Argentina, two wins for the Netherlands and a draw, according to FIFA data.

Despite the balance of this match, the two South American victories are probably a bitterer memory for the Dutch: one was in the 1978 Argentina final, where the Albiceleste won their first World Cup; and the second occurred in the semifinal of Brazil 2014, when the Argentines won on penalties. By contrast, the Netherlands’ two wins came in the quarter-finals at France 1998 and the group stage at Germany 1974. The draw came in the groups at Germany 2006.

Either way, in Qatar 2022, the balance will tip to one side and there is nothing that is going to change that.

Everything you need to know about the Argentina vs. Netherlands

Lionel Messi (Argentina) and Virgil Van Dijk (Netherlands) at the Qatar 2022 World Cup. (Credit: image created with Getty Images photos)

Lionel Messi (Argentina) and Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands) at the Qatar 2022 World Cup. (Credit: image created with Getty Images photos)

Date and times

The quarterfinal match between Argentina and the Netherlands will be played on Friday, December 9.

These are the meeting times in various parts of the world:

  • Argentina (Buenos Aires): 4 p.m.
  • Mexico (CDMX): 1 pm
  • United States (Miami): 2 pm
  • Colombia (Bogotá): 2 p.m.
  • Spain (Madrid): 8 p.m.
  • Ecuador (Quito): 2 p.m.
  • Peru (Lima): 2 pm
  • Qatar (Doha): 10 p.m.

Where to watch on television and internet?

  • Argentina: Public TV, TyC Sports, DIRECTV Sports, DIRECTV GO
  • Mexico: SKY Sports, Blue To Go
  • United States: Peacock, Fox, Telemundo, Telemundo Sports
  • Colombia: DIRECTV Sports, DIRECTV GO
  • Spain: World Goal
  • Ecuador: DIRECTV Sports, DIRECTV GO
  • Peru: DIRECTV Sports, DIRECTV GO