The Charros beat the Tomateros 3-2 and extend their lead in the Mexican baseball final

The Charros de Jalisco defeated the two-time champions Tomateros de Culiacán this Saturday 3-2 to go ahead 2-0 in the final of the Mexican Pacific League (LMP).

Jalisco’s victory was made by the timely batting of its players and a good relief from the winning pitcher Alemao Hernandez, who dried up in an inning and a third to the Tomateros’ offense by only allowing one hit with no runs and prescribing a strikeout.

Amadeo Zazueta was Jalisco’s best hitter as he went 2-for-3 and scored the winning run.

Los Tomateros took the lead in the top of the second inning. With two players on base, Emmanuel Ávila singled to center field that drove in Víctor Mendoza for a 1-0 lead.

Culiacán increased its advantage in the fourth chapter. Mendoza led off the roll with a solo shot to right field to make it 2-0.

Jalisco tied in the bottom of the sixth, when the American Nick Struck, starter for Culiacán, who had two chapters retired in a row and five zeros on the board, exploded.

Cuban Dariel Álvarez shot a home run to the left field with which he sent Christian Villanueva to the plate and made it 2-2 on the board.

The Charros struck again in the seventh. Amadeo Zazueta hit a double in which the outfieldero Jesus Fabela made an error that allowed the runner to advance to third.

Jared Serna extended the Charros’ lead with a sacrifice fly to Fabela who sent Zazueta to the rubber for 3-2 on the scoreboard.

Culiacán let go of the opportunity to turn the game around in the ninth inning in which he left to players at second and third base.

The final series will resume this Monday in Culiacán with the third game that will star the duel of pitchers between Brennan Bernardino, for the Charros, and Manny Barreda, by Tomatoes.

The Pacific League champion will represent Mexico in the Caribbean Series to be played in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, from January 28 to February 3.