The tennis player Marc Polmans He apologized to chair umpire Ben Anderson for the ball he accidentally hit in the face after showing his frustration over a volley that hit the net, 'it wasn't intentional.'
- YOU MAY BE INTERESTED: Mexico with two Olympic places for Paris 2024! Alexa Moreno gets an individual
"Ben has accepted my apology for that action. He knows that it was not intentional and that I hit the ball out of the court out of frustration in the heat of the action," the tennis player explained on social network X (formerly known as Twitter).
Marc Polmans, on 7-6 6-6 (6-6), has been disqualified from the Shanghai Masters Q2 match for accidentally hitting the chair umpire after missing match point. -
Stefano Napolitano won the match. pic.twitter.com/ufttBJOyde
— Relevant Tennis (@RelevantTennis) October 3, 2023
He tennis player He was disqualified from the qualifying phase of the Shanghai Masters 1000 for this action. The 26-year-old player, number 140 in the ATP, had a match point against the Italian Stefano Napolitano and, in case of victory, it would be the first time he participated in the main draw of a Masters 1000 (category tournaments immediately below the Grand Slam).
But after missing a shot and suffering from frustration, he hit the ball with a racket that hit chair umpire Ben Anderson in the face.
"It was a high-pressure situation and I should have reacted better," added Polmans, who in addition to losing the points and money obtained in Shanghai, could receive an additional penalty by the ATP.
Copyright law strictly prohibits copying Excelsior materials in whole or in part without first obtaining written permission and without including a link to the original text.