1669105275 stars players possible starting lineup

stars, players, possible starting lineup

(CNN Spanish) — The lasting emotion of soccer is woven at the tip of feats. And if Costa Rica advances to the next round in Qatar 2022, of course, its players will be considered heroes of Central American soccer.

Why? In this, his sixth world cup, he will have to overcome the obstacles of Group E that he shares with two world champions: Spain and Germany. The challenge is completed by Japan.

These are the players who, led by Colombian coach Luis Fernando Suárez, hope to surpass Costa Rica’s historic participation in Brazil 2014, when they reached the quarterfinals.

The figures of Costa Rica in the World Cup

Keylor Navas

Goalkeeper. 1.85 meters. 35 years. He is a veteran of the national team (he has played more than 100 matches) and a soccer legend from his country. He from Saprissa in Costa Rica went on to Spanish football with Albacete and Levante before arriving at Real Madrid, where he became the idol of millions. After achieving an enviable record for any player with the white team, he is now a goalkeeper for Paris Saint German, a team full of stars.

Kaylor Navas. Credit: RAUL ARBOLEDA/AFP via Getty Images

Joel Campbell

Rightmost. 1.78 meters. 30 years. He has played in several world leagues including Spain’s LaLiga (Real Betis, Villareal), Italy’s Serie A (Frosinone) and England’s Premier League (Arsenal), among others. He is currently part of the Club León de México.

“In the tie, what happened between Joel Campbell and Keylor Navas was gigantic,” Costa Rican sports commentator Monica Malavassi told CNN. “I give more than 50% of the credit for qualifying these two players,” she said.

Players called up for the World Cup in Qatar

goalkeepers

Keylor Navas

Stephen Alvarado

Patrick Sequeira

Luis Fernando Suárez, the Colombian coach of the Costa Rican team. Credit: RAUL ARBOLEDA/AFP via Getty Images

defenses

Francis Calvo

John Paul Vargas

Kendall Waston

Oscar Duarte

Daniel Chacon

Keysher Fuller

carlos martinez

Bryan Oviedo

Ronald Matarrita

Credit: GIUSEPPE CACACE/AFP via Getty Images

Frills

Yeltsin Tejeda

Celso Borges

Youstin Salas

roan wilson

gerson torres

douglas lopez

jewison bennette

Alvaro Zamora

Anthony Hernandez

Brandon Aguilera

Bryan Ruiz

strikers

Joel Campbell

Anthony Contreras

Johan Venegas

possible alignment

Goalkeeper: Keylor Navas

Defenses: Carlos Martinez, Oscar Duarte, Daniel Chacon, Bryan Oviedo

Frills: Douglas Lopez, Anthony Hernandez, Roan Wilson, Bryan Ruiz

Forwards: Joel Campbell, Anthony Contreras

next matches

Spain – Costa Rica

Wednesday, November 23

11:00 a.m. (Miami time)
10:00 am (CDMX and San José time)
1:00 p.m. (Buenos Aires time)

Japan – Costa Rica

Sunday November 27

5:00 a.m. (Miami time)
4:00 am (CDMX and San José time)
7:00 a.m. (Buenos Aires time)

Costa Rica – Germany

Thursday December 1

5:00 a.m. (Miami time)
4:00 am (CDMX and San José time)
7:00 a.m. (Buenos Aires time)

PLUS: