Russia bars entry to 963 US citizens | News


Russia banned the entry of 963 US citizens on Saturday in response to Washington’s sanctions, the Foreign Ministry reported, while the wife of Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau was also sanctioned in retaliation for unilateral restrictions against Moscow.


Russian army liberates the port city of Kherson in Ukraine

According to the statement, the list includes the president of the United States, Joe Biden; the Secretary of State, Antony Blinken; the director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Christopher Wray; among other high officials of that country.

“We insist that the unfriendly actions undertaken by Washington, which have repercussions on the United States itself, will continue to be duly rejected,” emphasized the text of the Russian Foreign Ministry.

The list, a retaliation for US sanctions against the Russian operation in Ukraine, also includes House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Senate Democratic Party Majority Leader Chuck Schumer, as well as other congressmen. and senators, most from the Democratic Party, like Alexandra Ocasio-Cortez.

Also included in the text is President Biden’s son, Hunter, a former director of the Ukrainian gas company Burisma and accused by the Republican opposition of incurring an alleged “conflict of interest” by carrying out these activities when his father was vice president of the United States.

Russia Sanctions Canadian Prime Minister’s Wife

In another statement, the ministry indicated that “in response to the sanctions announced by the Canadian government that affect not only high-ranking officials, military personnel and businessmen, but also their families (…) entry into Russia is prohibited for the similar circle of Canadian citizens”.

Also on the list of 26 names is Sophie Gregoire, Trudeau’s wife.

The entity specified that the list includes the Canadian political and military leadership, their closest entourage and senior executives of companies linked to the Armed Forces.

Specifically, among those sanctioned are also Eric Jean Kenny, head of the Air Force; Angus Topshee, Commander of the Navy; and Jocelyn (Joe) Paul, head of the Army.

Comments are closed.