Qatar 2022: Uruguay presents a list of old acquaintances for the World Cup | Video

technical director diego alonso revealed its 26-player squad, Uruguay committed to the recovery of Ronald Araujo by including the Barcelona defender on his list Qatar World Cup 2022while the Valencia striker, Edinson Cavanialso has the green light despite a recent injury scare.

Araujoone of the pillars of the Uruguayan defense, underwent surgery on the thigh after a injury suffered in September during his participation in the national team, and he gradually recovered, the head of the Uruguayan soccer federation reported on Thursday.

The world champion team in its first edition in 1950 opted for a mixture of youth and experienceincluding veterans Luis Suarez, Diego Godin, Fernando Muslera and Cavani, who will almost certainly appear for the last time in a World Cup.

Cavany, The 35-year-old has scored four goals in seven league games for Valencia this season, but faces a race against time to recover from an ankle injury with less than two weeks to go before Valencia’s first game. Uruguay with South Korea in Qatar.

The charrúaswhich will also face Portugal Y Ghana in the Group Hthey included Federico Valverdefrom Real Madrid, already Rodrigo Bentancur, of Tottenham Hotspur, in midfield, as well as Darwin Nunezfrom Liverpool, already Giorgian De Arrascaetafrom Flamengo, among the forwards.

Next, the list of summoned:

goalkeepers: Fernando Muslera (Galatasaray), Sergio Rochet (National), Sebastián Sosa (Independent).

Defenders: José María Giménez (Athletic Madrid), Sebastián Coates (Sporting CP), Diego Godín (Vélez Sarsfield), Martín Cáceres (LA Galaxy), Ronald Araujo (Barcelona), Guillermo Varela (Flamengo), José Luis Rodríguez (Nacional), Matías Olivera (Naples), Matías Viña (Rome).

Midfielders: Lucas Torreira (Galatasaray), Manuel Ugarte (Sporting CP), Matías Vecino (Lazio), Rodrigo Bentancur (Tottenham Hotspur), Federico Valverde (Real Madrid), Facundo Pellistri (Manchester United), Nicolás De La Cruz (River Plate).

Forwards: Agustín Canobbio (Atlético Paranaense), Facundo Torres (Orlando City), Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Flamengo), Maxi Gómez (Trabzonspor), Luis Suárez (Nacional), Edinson Cavani (Valencia), Darwin Núñez (Liverpool).

(With information from Reuters)