Peruvian Congress appoints judges of the Constitutional Court | News


The six magistrates who will belong to the Constitutional Court (TC) of Peru were elected this Tuesday by the plenary session of Congress through a voting process according to the order of merit of those selected.


Peruvian Congress will elect judges of the Constitutional Court

The new members of the TC are Francisco Humberto Morales Saravia, Luis Gustavo Gutiérrez Ticse, Helder Domínguez Haro, Luz Pacheco Zerga, Manuel Monteagudo Valdez and César Ochoa Cardich.

Regarding the new magistrates, the lawyer Francisco Morales Saravia, with ten years of experience in the Constitutional Court, reached 92.89 points.

The second place was occupied by the constitutional lawyer Gutiérrez, questioned for some traffic violations. He, also a professor of constitutional law at the University of San Ignacio de Loyola, will take the position of Eloy Espinoza-Saldaña after obtaining 88.67 points for merits.

Meanwhile, the lawyer Helder Domínguez, who served as director of the Judicial Research Center for 13 years, ranked third with 84.00 points.

Luz Pacheco Zerga got 83.96, especially for her recognition as a member of the National Court of the National Superintendence of Labor Inspection.

On the other hand, Manuel Monteagudo Valdez was supported with 75.88 points. This lawyer served as legal manager of the Central Reserve Bank of Peru.

The sixth place was covered by César Ochoa Cardich, former member of the Police Disciplinary Court of the Ministry of the Interior, reaching 73.32 points.

During the session, the vote was taken directly without the right to prior debate. In addition, it is known that the president of the candidate selection commission and member of Peru Libre, José Balcázar, previously refused to present reports with information on the candidates.

Although Balcázar ended up presenting a document with deleted pages, the president of Congress, María del Carmen Alva, congratulated him before the plenary session and described the selection as “a historic event” carried out in a “responsible and transparent” manner.

With this selection, the previous magistrates Ernesto Blume Fortini, Eloy Espinosa Saldaña, Marianella Ledesma, Manuel Miranda Canales, Jorge Luis Sardón and the late Carlos Ramos are replaced.

Comments are closed.