performances, what time it starts and how to see

(Reuters) — The most followed soccer event in the world begins. The first step, however, is not a whistle inside the field of play. It’s the opening ceremony.

Here’s what you need to know about Qatar 2022 opening this Sunday.

When does the World Cup opening ceremony start?

The opening ceremony of the World Cup will take place on November 20, before the opening match of Group A between hosts Qatar and Ecuador.

The event is scheduled to begin at 9:00 am (Miami time).

Ecuador’s President Guillermo Lasso said he would not attend his country’s high-profile opening match, citing internal unrest.

Where will it be?

The stage will be at the 60,000 capacity Al Bayt Stadium, 40 km north of Doha.

Aerial view of Al Bayt on June 19, 2022 in Al Khor, Qatar. Credit: David Ramos/Getty Images

Who will participate in the ceremony?

FIFA did not confirm the full list of artists for the opening ceremony. But this is what is known:

South Korea’s BTS said that Jung Kook, one of the seven members of the band, would perform a song titled “Dreamers” at the ceremony.

Other possible performers at the opening ceremony include the Black Eyed Peas and Nora Fatehi, according to the Telegraph newspaper.

British singer Dua Lipa denied a report that she was going to perform at the event. Some Spanish media reports said that Shakira would not perform either.

Singer Rod Stewart told the Times that he turned down an offer of “more than a million dollars” to perform in Qatar.

Who participated in the 2018 ceremony?

The 2018 World Cup in Russia kicked off with a ceremony in Moscow headlined by British pop star Robbie Williams and Russian soprano Aida Garifullina.

How to watch on TV

The FIFA document that informs who owns the rights to broadcast a television signal, both the inauguration and the match between Qatar and Ecuador can be seen on the following channels in each country:

  • United States: Telemundo and Fox Sports
  • Mexico: Televisa, TV Azteca and Sky Mexico
  • Colombia: Caracol, Canal RCN and DirecTV Sports
  • Argentina: Public TV and TyC Sports
  • Spain: La 1, RTVE and Gol Mundial (new pay channel created specifically for the World Cup)
  • Ecuador: DirecTV, Teleamazonas
  • Peru: Latina and DirectTV Sports
  • Venezuela: Televen and DirectTV Sports