Nobel Prize in Literature 2023 goes to Jon Fosse

Rate this post

Norwegian playwright Jon Fosse he won Nobel Prize in Literature 2023 for his "innovative" works that have been performed on stages around the world, highlighted the Swedish Academy, which awards the award.

Jon Fosse, 64, was awarded "for his innovative works of theater and prose, which give voice to the unspeakable"declared the Stockholm-based Academy.

"I am overwhelmed and grateful. I see it as an award for literature that above all aims to be literature, without other considerations," Fosse said in a statement. "I was surprised when they called me, but not that surprised either," he added to the Norwegian public channel NRK.

Fosse was born on September 29, 1959 in the city of Haugesund (southwest); he is a versatile writer and not very accessible to the general public. However, he is one of the living authors whose plays are most performed in Europe.

Often compared to Samuel Beckett, the Fosse's work is minimalist, based on simple language that transmits its message through rhythm, melody and silence. He emerged as a playwright on the European stage with his work someone is coming.

— The Nobel Prize (@NobelPrize) October 5, 2023

He also became known for Naustet (1989, not translated into Spanish), which earned him critical acclaim, and Melancholy I and II (1995-96), another of his great works.

His name had been circulating for years among the favorites to win the Nobel Prize in Literature. When he heard the news, "I was driving through the countryside, towards the fjord north of Bergen in Norway," Mats Malm, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, said after the announcement.

"We had the opportunity to start talking about practical issues and Nobel week in December," he added.

Work by Jon Fosse, with a wide variety of genres

"His immense body of work written in Norwegian Nynorsk (one of Norway's written linguistic forms) and spanning a wide variety of genres consists of a large number of plays, novels, poems, essays, children's books and translations," stated the jury.

"Although today he is one of the most represented playwrights in the world, he is also increasingly recognized for his prose," he added.

Fosse's works have been translated into around 50 languages. According to his Norwegian publishing house Samlaget, his works have been performed more than a thousand times around the world.

"My books are not read for the plots," he told the Financial Times in 2018.

"I don't write about characters in the traditional sense of the word. I write about humanity," Fosse also told the French newspaper Le Monde in 2003.

Winners of the Nobel Prize in Literature

The Nobel Prize is endowed with a medal and a prize of 11 million Swedish crowns (about a million dollars).

Last year, the award went to French feminist icon Annie Ernauxknown for her deceptively simple novels, based on personal experiences of class and gender.

The Academy has long been criticized for the overrepresentation of white Western authors among its honorees.

from the wave #MeToo in 2018has carried out important reforms, promising a most global and gender-equal literature award.

Since then, he has honored three women - Annie Ernauxthe American poetand Louise Gluck and the polish Olga Tokarczuk- already three men - the Austrian author Peter Handkethe Tanzanian writer Abdulrazak Gurnah and Jon Fosse.

Fosse will receive the Nobel Prize from King Carl XVI Gustaf at an official ceremony in Stockholm on December 10, the anniversary of the death of scientist Alfred Nobel in 1896.


Author Profile

Nathan Rivera
Allow me to introduce myself. I am Nathan Rivera, a dedicated journalist who has had the privilege of writing for the online newspaper Today90. My journey in the world of journalism has been a testament to the power of dedication, integrity, and passion.

My story began with a relentless thirst for knowledge and an innate curiosity about the events shaping our world. I graduated with honors in Investigative Journalism from a renowned university, laying the foundation for what would become a fulfilling career in the field.

What sets me apart is my unwavering commitment to uncovering the truth. I refuse to settle for superficial answers or preconceived narratives. Instead, I constantly challenge the status quo, delving deep into complex issues to reveal the reality beneath the surface. My dedication to investigative journalism has uncovered numerous scandals and shed light on issues others might prefer to ignore.

I am also a staunch advocate for press freedom. I have tirelessly fought to protect the rights of journalists and have faced significant challenges in my quest to inform the public truthfully and without constraints. My courage in defending these principles serves as an example to all who believe in the power of journalism to change the world.

Throughout my career, I have been honored with numerous awards and recognitions for my outstanding work in journalism. My investigations have changed policies, exposed corruption, and given a voice to those who had none. My commitment to truth and justice makes me a beacon of hope in a world where misinformation often prevails.

At Today90, I continue to be a driving force behind journalistic excellence. My tireless dedication to fair and accurate reporting is an invaluable asset to the editorial team. My biography is a living testament to the importance of journalism in our society and a reminder that a dedicated journalist can make a difference in the world.