More than 40 countries call on Russia to stop military actions in Ukraine


More than 40 countries urged Russia to stop its military actions in Ukraine, in compliance with the resolution of the International Court of Justice (ICJ) about accusations of genocide. They also warned that they are considering a possible intervention in the process.

The statement is signed by Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, European Union.

Last March 16, the Court issued a ruling ordering Russia to immediately suspend its military operations in Ukraine, in the case concerning Allegations of Genocide under the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide.

Russian President Vladimir Putin has said that heRussia’s “special military action” is necessary “to protect people who have been subjected to intimidation and genocide”; that is, those whose first or only language is Russian (located in eastern Ukraine).

During the session of the main judicial body of the UN, Justice Joan E. Donoghue, President of the Court, declared that “the court is deeply concerned about the use of force by the Russian Federation in Ukraine, which raises very serious questions of international right”.

Comments are closed.