Lukashenko denounces that Kazakhstan faced external interference | News

The president of Belarus, Alexander Lukashenko, denounced this Saturday that Kazakhstan faced an attempt of external interference in its affairs and that this type of threat is common to most countries in the post-Soviet space.


Withdrawal of CSTO peacekeeping mission from Kazakhstan begins

During a meeting with members of the peace contingent of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) who concluded their mission in that Central Asian country, the head of state assured that Kazakhstan suffered a coordinated attack by terrorist groups previously trained and with combat experience. .

He said that the organizers of the violent riots were trying to aggravate the situation around Russia’s borders and weaken this country.

He stressed that the CSTO peacekeeping operation was successful and prevented a color revolution from taking place in Kazakhstan.

According to local media, which quote Lukashenko, the peace operation was developed in detail and for an hour by the leaders of Russia (Vladimir Putin) and Belarus.

The Belarusian leader added that the rapid and coordinated dispatch of troops showed the willingness of the CSTO member countries to jointly defend their sovereignty.

He valued that the success of the peace operation, with objectives as crucial as safeguarding lives and maintaining the security of strategic installations, makes it possible to assert that this contingent can carry out any task efficiently.

In early January, after the rise in fuel prices, protests originated in southwestern Kazakhstan that later spread to other areas of the country despite the cancellation of the measure and the resignation of the Cabinet.

The violent disturbances that followed these events caused dozens of deaths, more than a thousand injuries and thousands of detainees.

In the midst of this scenario, the Kazakh president, Kasim-Yomart Tokaev, asked the CSTO, on January 5, to send peacekeepers. These began the withdrawal to their bases this Friday.

The CSTO was created in 2002 and is made up of Armenia, Belarus, Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Kazakhstan.