Photo: ODD ANDERSEN/Getty Images
Lionel Messi requires special attention in each of his matches. The Argentine is one of the best footballers in history and he has shown it throughout his entire career. “La Pulga” had in mind some ghosts behind his back since the 2018 World Cup in Russia. But in Argentina’s duel against Saudi Arabia, Messi shook off those torments with a goal from the penalty spot.
“La Pulga” managed to score 1-0 in favor of the albiceleste team. A penalty brought goalkeeper Mohammed Al-Owais face to face with the Paris Saint-Germain footballer. Despite the fact that Lionel Messi made the charge with his characteristic serenity, this penalty had a great camouflaged weight.
Lionel Messi had only had the chance to kick a penalty in a World Cup. This charge dates back to the 2018 World Cup in Russia. However, on that occasion, the star of the albiceleste team he was unable to effectively nail down his first chance since the penalty spot.
That match took place on June 16, 2018. The rival on duty was the ordered selection of Iceland that complicated the South American team in the previous World Cup. In fact, the missed penalty by Messi had its consequences on the result, since Argentina couldn’t get past a 1-1 draw.
But the former FC Barcelona footballer needed a little more than four years to have his revenge. In the 2022 Qatar World Cup, Messi managed to get even for that ruling and divide his effectiveness from the penalty spot.
You may also like:
El Tri and its two key foreigners to return to being the “Giant of Concacaf”
· “He doesn’t even watch the Liga MX games”: Francisco Palencia attacked Gerardo Martino and his work within the Mexican National Team
· Canelo left his gloves to talk about Formula One and soccer: Saúl Alvarez gave his opinion on the lawsuit against Checo Pérez and on the Mexican National Team