Iga Swiatek is crowned at Roland Garros 2022 | Video


The Polish tennis player Iga Swiatek won this Saturday her second women’s singles title Roland Garrosafter authoritatively bending the American Coco Gauff 6-1 and 6-3 in a Final that was resolved in one hour and eight minutes of play.

The number one in the world culminated his impeccable season on clay with his second Grand Slam title by defeating the seeded number 18, that he had not yielded a single set in the entire tournament.

Swiatekoriginally from Warsaw, gave herself another sweeping display in a season where he has been practically unbeatable and where he already has a 35-fight win streaksurpassing Serena Williams and tying to venus williams in third place on the list.

The champion in Paris in 2020 completely disarmed wow, which debuted in the Grand Slam Final as the youngest player to reach the Roland Garros Final, since Kim Clijsters in 2001, and in any ‘big’ from Maria Sharapova in 2004. However, the American could not surprise a rival who only gave in four games to remain at the top of the world women’s tennis.

Swiatek It took almost an hour to get rid of Gauff on the Philippe-Chatrier. The first sleeve was a full-fledged recital of the 21-year-old Pole, that frustrated one gauff surpassed by the effectiveness of the Polish. He was unleashed and with four games in a row he left his opponent without options breaking serve three times to take the first set 6-1.

The American did not give up and in the first game of the second set he broke Swiatek’s serve to make it 0-2 and harbor a minimum of hope. But the Pole showed her class and came back from the set to close the match placidly (6-3).

After turning 21 on Tuesday, Swiatek it’s the fourth youngest player to win more than once in Paris: single Monica Seles, Steffi Graf and Chris Evert they were younger when they did it. With this triumph, she has become the youngest woman to win several ‘majors’ since Maria Sharapova He won his second Grand Slam title at the age of 19. 2006 US Open.

Also, number one gets her sixth title of the yearall of them consecutive during his winning streak, after Doha, Indian Wells, Miami, Stuttgart and Romemaking her the first player to win six titles in a row since JAustin Henin in 2007 and 2008.

(With information from Europe Press)

Comments are closed.